Ihsan Ugur Delikanli
President of BSTDB
The President is the Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Directors. As stated in Article 29 of the Agreement Establishing the Bank, the President shall conduct, under the direction of Board of Directors, the current business of the Bank.


He is appointed by and accountable to the Board of Governors, and reports to the Board of Directors.


The President’s functions can be defined more specifically as follows:

  • Ensuring compliance with the Agreement Establishing the Bank and policies approved by the Board of Governors and the Board of Directors
  • Chairing the Board of Directors and recommending policies and operational and financial proposals, created in accordance with the Bank’s internal institutional order
  • Conducting, as the Chief Executive, the current business of the Bank under the direction of the Board of Directors
  • Being responsible for the organization, appointment and dismissal of officers and staff, under the provisions of Articles 29 and 30 of the Agreement Establishing the Bank and the decision of the Inaugural Meeting of the Board of Governors, related to the Secretary General
  • Directing the creation, promotion and review of the Bank’s overall institutional development
  • Promoting the Bank’s image within the international financial community
  • Exercising the authorities related to the Bank’s activities
  • Overseeing the functional divisions of the Bank (currently Banking, Finance, Operations and Administration Divisions), following the hierarchical line of command as delineated in the Organizational Chart of the Bank and the delegated authority to Vice-Presidents and Secretary General, who act as supervising Heads of Division
  • Issuing administrative orders regarding the internal functioning of the Bank
  • Approving within the given budget limits joint proposals of Divisions for transfers of funds in the framework of a specific budget line
  • Exercising administrative authority over the departments reporting directly to the President’s office, including the allocation of the divisional budget among them.